Introducing The Citadel Class of 2025 Summerall Guards

The Summerall Guards for the Class of 2025 are now in position. The 61 rising-senior cadets held their first performance during the changing of the guard ceremony, an event that is part of The Citadel’s annual Corps Day weekend ceremonies. This marks the moment that the Class of 2024 Summerall Guards perform their last precision drills as a unit before passing their rifles to the new platoon.

They were selected after a process that included weeks of Bond Volunteer Aspirant (BVA) training. Junior cadets who pass an initial physical fitness test take part in the six-week BVA training and tryout sessions. They must perform military pushups, sit-ups and rifle-bearing physical training, exhibiting exceptional physical condition and stamina.

Known around the United States as one of the elite military drill troupes, membership is a high honor at the military college of South Carolina. Created in 1932, The Summerall Guards have represented The Citadel at events around the nation, including performing in five presidential inaugural parades.

The platoon is named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army and The Citadel president from 1931 until 1953. Its purpose is to exemplify the exactness and thoroughness of a cadet’s training through a unique series of movements based on old, close-order Prussian drills. The maneuvers have never been written down, are passed from class to class and are performed to a silent count.

The 61 seniors will be commanded by Cadet Jack Hibbitts.

The Class of 2025 Summerall Guards:

Ryan AitonPierceson Lee
Bryant BacuWeston Lever
Bodhi BagwellCih Cheih Li
Eric BakerRyan Liester
John BannerBlake Lyon
Niven BarnesRevill MacGregor
Jacob BlankenshipPaul Maskery
Luke BollmannSamuel May
William BoydJacob Medlin
Johnathon BrockelbankKaden Mingo
Austin BrownThomas Mordarski
Joseph ButlerSamuel Nutting
Max ChildressKeshawn Pitts-Bermudez
Kaleb DeHartMichael Porpiglia
Svend DelaskoBenjamin Lesesne
Joseph FarrellMeth Ranaweera
Thomas FitzpatrickWilliam Randall
Michael GallowayJonathan Ridgeway
William GibbsElijah Rodriguez
Patrick GramblinKyle Samida
Christian GunterPreston Scott
Clayton GurleyAidan Smith
Gregory HartCarl Sullivan
Robert HartWilliam Walker
Michael HartThomas Weese
Jack HibbittsNoah Williams
George HoniotesSam Wilson
Christian JenkinsAustin Winburn
Terrell JohnsonParker Wloch
Jonathan JordanJonathan Wyble
Patrick Kenny