Commissioning ceremony recognizes newest Navy officers

Citadel Navy Commissioning 2018

America’s newest Navy officers commissioned May 4

Eleven of the newest Navy officers took their commissioning oath on Friday, May 4 in Summerall Chapel. The cadets will officially be sworn in as officers during the South Carolina Corps of Cadets commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 5.

More than 160 cadets involved in The Citadel ROTC departments will become commissioned officers across all branches of the military in 2018.

Commissioned cadets include:

James Andrus
William Brown
Jon Buckland
James Cunningham
Careem Gates
Jibri Kea
Christian Meyer
Alexander Nagel
Alec Sharpe
Holden Usherwood
Santiago Vega