Introducing The Citadel Class of 2024 Summerall Guards

2024 Summerall Guards

The Summerall Guards for the Class of 2024 are now in position. The 61 rising-senior cadets held their first performance during the changing of the guard ceremony, an event that is part of The Citadel’s annual Corps Day/Recognition Day weekend ceremonies. This marks the moment that the Class of 2023 Summerall Guards perform their last precision drills as a unit before passing their rifles to the new platoon.

They were selected after a process that included weeks of Bond Volunteer Aspirant (BVA) training. Junior cadets who pass an initial physical fitness test take part in the six-week BVA training and tryout sessions. They must perform military pushups, sit-ups and rifle-bearing physical training, exhibiting exceptional physical condition and stamina.

Known around the United States as one of the elite military drill troupes, membership is a high honor at the military college of South Carolina. Created in 1932, The Summerall Guards have represented The Citadel at events around the nation, including performing in five presidential inaugural parades.

The platoon is named for Gen. Charles P. Summerall, former Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army and The Citadel president from 1931 until 1953. It’s purpose is to exemplify the exactness and thoroughness of a cadet’s training through a unique series of movements based on old, close-order Prussian drills. The maneuvers have never been written down, are passed from class to class and are performed to a silent count.

The 61 seniors will be commanded by Cadet Marcus Newman.

The Class of 2024 Summerall Guards:

Maclean ArmstrongSullivan Newsome
Isaiah BaileyGriffin O’Shields
James BankoTimothy Overend
Mark BurtonBryson Overton
Arch BynumCooper Rhue
William CookeVincent Riviera
John CoonsJamison Rogers
Scott DaleJohn Rosenblum
Ashton DarracottCody Sauls
Jalen DavisLawrence Scott
Mark DelatteSpencer Sergant
Ayden DevlinJacob Simmons
William DohertyChadd Smart
Jackson DulayDaniel Smith
Carter EddlemonZachary Sowards
Trey EdelsteinChristopher Stuart
Joseph EmdeRichard Stuckey
Carlton EnesWilliam Summers
Heath ErwinGarrison Swan
Gavin FranklinWilliam Templeton
Jackson FullerAlex Tiberghien
Paul GoldmanKeagan Trahan
Colton HorvathWilliam Varn
Hunter KackleyBlake Vasquez
Charles KellettJoshua Williams
Kubwimana Moses KingBilly Workman
Addy LiuTyquan Wright
Jake McPhersonJustin Wyatt
Taylor MerrellJack Wysong
Gabe MorganJesse Young
Marcus Newman